John 9:16 – Division Amongst Them

July 2, 2008

The Lord spoke to me today through a number.

The number was a numeric mistake that I made: I transposed 619 into 916.  I was writing down some thoughts about the division over this revival, and I was entering the number of miles from my house to a Todd Bentley meeting.  The distance was 619 miles, but I entered 916.

I had doublechecked what I had entered, but I did not notice the transposition until someone else pointed it out.  I was not embarassed by the mistake, but I was puzzled.  I began to wonder and then pray about the number I had entered: 916.  

Then I began thinking that it had to do with the topic on which I was writing: Lakeland and the division over my dear brother Todd Bentley.  Soon I suspected that it was pointing to a chapter and verse in the scripture, and I was immediately led to the gospel of John.

John 9:16 says:

Then some of the Pharisees began to say,  “This man is not from God, because he does not observe the Sabbath.”  But others said, “How can a man who is a sinner perform such miraculous signs?” Thus there was a division among them.

When I read that I was filled with awe!

This one scripture captures the controversy over Todd Bentley.  People are offended because Todd goes against the grain of their religious norms and what they consider acceptable Christianity.  Yet who can deny that there are miracles occurring?   The gospel is being preached as well.  And many are stumbling because they cannot reconcile Todd’s nature with the miracles occurring and the preaching of the gospel that they hear.

Of course we must be careful as we apply this scripture to the current divide in the Body:  Todd is just a brother, and those who struggle with this revival are not necessarily Pharisees.  But if any single scripture captures the difficulties, it is John 9:16.

I am still amazed that the Lord sovereignly led me to this verse today.  Surely the Lord He is God!

May God have mercy on all of us and help us respond rightly to this outpouring.

Leave a Reply

