A Question About Medically Verified Miracles

July 14, 2008

Anonymous (I will refer to him as “Dave”) notes below his disapproval of Lakeland and asks what planet I am from.

I thank him for his comment, and since my response is somewhat lengthy, I am making it in a blog post.

First, I am somewhat new at this blogging thing, and still trying to sort out just what I want to see on the site. My current inclination is to try to keep things fairly pleasant, and from that perspective his post seems a little harsh.

But in the interest of allowing plausibly constructive debate, I will keep it for now and we will see how it goes.

The substance of Dave’s post that I will address is, more or less: Since there are no medically verified healings after all these meetings and all these claims, Lakeland is false.

I think that is a reasonable conclusion.

However, I do not accept that conclusion, and this is why.

I experienced healing at a Todd Bentley meeting – a slight but real increase in hearing in one ear. I cannot prove it.

I have a friend who recently posted fairly convincing before-and-after pictures here (scroll to the top of the linked page) showing a healing from scoliosis at Lakeland. Those of us who first saw these pictures were somewhat torn between on the one hand, our desire to push for medical verification, and on the other hand, our wanting to minimize giving the deliriously happy and pain-free person an unnecessarily hard time about her claim. So there may be medical follow-up publicly posted at some point, I do not know.

My daughter is a nurse in an intensive care unit and has personally observed two fairly impressive instances of healing resulting from Lakeland.

A person with terminal cancer, in fact one whom Todd kicked, testifies online that that he saw an unprecedented 53% drop in his CEA (Carcinogenic Embryonic Antigen) number as a result. For those who might try to google that, “Carcinogenic” is mispelled as “Carcenogenic” in some excerpts of this person’s testimony.

My recollection is that in the Nightline episode, the parents of the young man with spina bifida were cited as having said that he shows improvement.

On Todd Bentley’s web site there are many testimonies of healing, including some I have pasted in here.

None of these is a medically verified healing. Nor does the scripture indicate that any of the healings performed by Jesus were medically verified. It does indicate, sadly, that entire cities that saw the miracles rejected Jesus. So it stands to reason that there must have been excuses developed by the people of Capernaum and Chorazin to make it possible for them to discount the healings in order to reject the healer.

Also, as I tried to explain here, for a number of reasons only a fraction of actual healing miracles will end up ever being medically verified.

Nevertheless, I fully sympathize with Dave’s desire to see medical verification.

I personally suspect that Dave is zealous for the Lord and that he would like to see miracles which he could accept as genuine. Like him, I have not seen any such documentation coming out of Lakeland. Perhaps to a lesser extent than he does, I too see the absence of any such documentation as inconsistent with the number of healings that are announced on stage.

However, I attribute this to sloppiness, legal difficulties, and other reasons, and not to duplicity.

In part, I give Fresh Fire the benefit of the doubt because everyone who knows Todd Bentley personally testifies to his integrity. Whatever the sins he committed in his early teens, everyone who has known him and worked with him as a Christian and as a ministry appears to believe in him as a decent and honest person, tattoos and all.

Finally, I do not agree with the implication that everyone who believes that some actual healings have occurred as a result of Lakeland, or sees the work of the kingdom happening there (people being saved and having their lives impacted in a positive manner) needs to be asked what planet they are from.

Nevertheless, the answer to that question is that I (and Dave as well, I trust) am a citizen of heaven.

I have heard differing opinions as to whether that is a planet.

On a happy day, we shall find out.

May God bless us all.

Dan

6 Responses to “A Question About Medically Verified Miracles”

  1. Hello and thanks for your post.I hope you dont mind me commenting here but this grabbed my attention :
    QUOTE:

    “I experienced healing at a Todd Bentley meeting – a slight but real increase in hearing in one ear. I cannot prove it.”

    I do not dispute your experience but where in the bible did God partially heal anyone ?…When God heals it is complete.

    Also i would disagree with the comments you have had that people are crazy if they believe anything is happening at Lakeland :

    2Th 2:9 The coming of the lawless one is according to the working of Satan, with all power, signs, and lying wonders,

    satan can perform signs and lying wonders …thats why Jesus warned us :

    Mat 16:4 A wicked and adulterous generation seeks after a sign, and no sign shall be given to it except the sign of the prophet Jonah.” And He left them and departed.

    Many thanks
    dale

  2. dancurant said

    Dale, I believe the concern related to partial healing is a reasonable one, and thank you for sharing it.

    I have tried to answer that here:

    http://dancurant.wordpress.com/2008/07/15/partial-healing-at-lakeland/

    God bless you -

    Dan

  3. Anonymous said

    Dan,

    I’d have preferred it if you hadn’t given my name out!

    Anyway, here’s the latest incident which casts significant doubt on Todd.

    What’s happened is some genius (from the UK) sent Todd a false testimony of a resurrection which Todd presents on God TV as being verified. What’s more, there is a message encoded in the story saying “Let me see if you verify this Todd or just publish this lie” !

    You can check it out on YouTube here:

    The fabricated testimony is still on Todd’s website here:

    http://www.freshfire.ca/index.php?Id=&Act=show_testimony_details&pid=8&post_cat=Healing&tpid=4331&bid=959

    (Although I expect it will disappear pretty quickly now. I have grabbed screen shots for “evidence”).

    What can we learn:

    Firstly, Todd presents the story as verified. That is not the case. The author was never contacted. Todd either believes that it has been verified or is knows full well that it hasn’t been. I suspect the latter and that he’s deliberately telling lies.

    Secondly, this casts doubt on all the other stories Todd has given. They probably haven’t been verified either and could be false or exaggerated.

    [As an aside, we're not even talking about verification from the medical profession here. Just someone checking out a story that was submitted to make sure that the facts are correct.]

    Thirdly, we see Toddd “manifest” on the first video, between 5:30 and 5:50. As he’s about to read the fabricated story, Todd is seemingly affected by something and laughs, grunts, and bends over repeatedly. He says “I feel the glory”.

    I find this particularly sad. God has nothing to do with a fake testimony, and there’s no glory in a lie. God can’t be tricked. So either (1) Todd is conciously faking his manifestations, (2) Todd’s subconcious is very deceived and is generating the manifestations, or (3) Todd’s manifestations are demonic.

    Option (2) is very unlikely, and option (3) seems illogical – why would the enemy give credence to a known lie that will be exposed.

    So my money is on option (1). Todd is putting on a religious freak-show and will do whatever it takes to keep the audience entertained, filling the seats and bringing in the money. He is a con-man who cares not for the truth.

    If Todd is a prophet with a hotline to God, how come he was taken in by this? The real glory, which I feel, is in the exposing of a Todd as a fraudster which hopefully will bring about his repentance.

  4. dancurant said

    Anonymous, I respect your anonymity.

    I was watching as Todd openly and abjectly apologized for having reported the hoax resurrection. I am not sure what more he can do at this point.

    My impression is that he made it pretty clear that this was an honest mistake.

    Apparently their policy is to note healings as they are sent in, and then try to track down people to confirm.

    More and more he is specifically noting, when citing a reported healing or resurrection, that it has not been confirmed.

    So they are learning from their experience and adapting, which as far as I am concerned is commendable.

    In this case, I admit that this creates the appearance that Todd is guilty of having been too trusting.

    In spite of this, I still love him.

    If God can’t be tricked, why did Jesus pick Judas?

    Thank you for your insights.

    I hope that you will continue in the spirit of healthy skepticism, sifting Lakeland and any other event that is alleged to be from the Lord, to ensure that it comports with the Scripture.

    God bless –

    Dan

  5. Anonymous said

    I wasn’t aware that Todd has apologised for reporting the fake resurrection. It is commendable if he has. But the story is still on his website as of now.

    However, this doesn’t explain why the false story caused Todd to “manifest”? I can’t get my head round that.

  6. [...] his Holy Spirit. An example is reported here; Todd announced this as a raising from the dead, but later apologised. This is not of course an example of Todd deceiving anyone, rather of people deliberately deceiving [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

